Tips for Getting Good Grades

Hello beautiful people! Thank you for stopping by my page! I have recently decided to focus my blog for the time being on how to accomplish your 2016 goals. For the next couple of months I will be posting about different topics such as exercise, grades, confidence, etc. topics that I think people might have centered some of their goals for the new year around and I will be providing some tips you can use to accomplish some of those things. I’ve decided to start with school because I’ve just gone back to college and I figured some of you guys might be in the same boat as me and will want to work your butt off to start of the semester strong with good grades. So, these are some things that I implented last semester that were actually very helpful and allowed me to accomplish my goal of getting all As. Some of these things may or may not work for you but I hope at least some of them will benefit you the way they did me. Okay so here we go:
Tip #1:

Set out time you will study/do the homework for each individual class you have. I like to take 1-2 hours to work on what I need to get done for each class the day before I have that class. In that time, I bring everything I need for that class: books, notebook, pen, highlighters, etc. and like I said I dedicate that time to get everything I need to get done to be successful in that class. 

Tip #2:

Have some background music going. Now this might not be everyone’s cup of tea and that’s fine. However, I’ve found that putting study music in the background, especially when I have to read a chapter, helps me to focus on what I’m reading. I don’t know if this is true, I haven’t timed myself, but I feel like I even read faster that when I do that. Who knows? That would definitely be a plus.

This a link to a video that I like to listen to when I study: https://youtu.be/2JQsf7i_dXY 

Tip #3:

Make an outline of your notes. If I have to do reading for a particular class I like to make an outline of my own with all of the main topics that were discussed in the chapter. If it is easier you can just go by every bolded headline written in the chapter. While I’m reading I write down within each headline things that I think are important. I then like to leave space within each headline so I can later add notes that I get from the professor in class. You could also make seperate notes for in class if you prefer that. However, keep them all in the same area so that you’re not scrambling for them when it’s time to study for a test.

Tip #4:

Take breaks. I would say work on your homework consistently for at least an hour before taking a timed break. Now, I say work consistently before taking a break because you will actually get work done, feel accomplished, and your break will fee more deserved. These breaks can range from 15-30 minutes depending on what you prefer. Remember though if you take a really long break you probably won’t feel motivated to start working again after, keep that in mind when your deciding how long you’ll break for. 

Tip #5:

Use sticky notes. If there’s something that stands out to you while you’re reading put a sticky note on it in case you want to refer back to it at some other point. Also, if there’s something you don’t understand and need to ask your teacher about in class a sticky note is perfect.

Tip #6:

Ask questions. If you don’t understand something ask. The fact is that someone else probably needs the answers as much as you and you’ll benefit yourself and someone else. If anything think about this, these people, your teachers/professors, they are there to help you. They are getting paid to teach you something, take advantage of that. Especially if you’re paying yourself for your education!

I hope these tips are helpful. This is what I’ve been doing recently and have found that I’ve been successful as a result. Good luck, and I wish you all the academic success you desire!

Xoxo,

Mara

Leave a Reply

