4 Steps to Effectively Check in on Your 2016 Goals/Resolutions 

I was recently sitting down in my room looking over my plans for the day when I realized. It’s already the end of June. Don’t get me wrong, I am aware of the time of year and the dates but sometimes it just hits you, you know.

We are half way through the year. Halfway through 2016.

Truthfully, my goals and resolutions came straight into mind, and I got the inspiration to write this post.

Although I have been checking in on my goals every couple of months, what a better time than now to let you guys in on how that has looked like for me?

If you haven’t already read my post from last year about making goals for the new year check it out.

It’s never too late to evaluate your life and create goals you want to meet.

Whether it’s a guide for the person you want to become or simply where you want your life to go, goals give us a sense of direction for moving forward in our lives.

Here are four simple steps that I have taken to effectively check in on my goals:

1. Assess.

Take a look at your goals. Pull up the word document you created or grab the notebook you wrote them down in. Determine what you have or have not accomplished. Did you actually follow through with all or some of the goals you made? What was your level of productivity? Did you get done what you wanted, but not to the extent that you had planned to?

2. Celebrate.

Celebrate your successes. No matter how small they may be. Even if you started continuously for a while and didn’t fully complete things the way you wanted to. You should be proud of yourself for starting and for getting as far as you have.

3. Revamp.

If you found that you did not succeed in everything you had planned, consider adjusting your goals and resolutions. This is not to say that because it was too hard you should quit. This is to say, maybe your goals were too large and you needed to zone it on them better. Think about ways to adjust your goals so they are more achievable. For example, maybe your goal was to read more. And maybe you did read, but not that much. A way to revamp this goal would be to set a number of books you want to have read by the end of the year. If you want you could even go as far as to make a list of which books you want to read and check them off as you go.

4. Move forward.

Keep pushing through with your goals. Don’t give up. The fact that you’re here says something about your resolve. Make up your mind that no matter how painful or how much work this will take, if this is truly what you want, you’re going to make it to the point to which you want to get to. Even if it takes time. I promise you, you’ll feel so accomplished in the end.

***

I am so proud of you for getting this far. You being here just proves that you are determined to get on track and move towards the life you want. Not everyone figures that out and you have (I didn’t for a long time and I’m so glad I did).

Like I said before, don’t give up. It may hurt in the moment but the other side, that’s where the rewards are. You’ll feel so much satisfaction if you endure and make it across your finish line. Forget about how long it will take. Just persist. Like they say, “slow and steady wins the race”.

Xoxo,

Mara

Leave a Reply

